The Ten Songs That Define Me: #10

Song #10: I Know You Are But What Am I? by Mogwai

This is probably in the top ten saddest songs I’ve ever heard. Starting off with a very minimal piano track, around the 90-second mark you begin to hear the electronic drum track start to build in volume before disappearing, only to return with a slightly more organic sound than previously. It’s one of Mogwai’s best and most simplistic tracks, easily the best track off of Happy Songs for Happy People.

This track has always helped me with whatever shitty mood I’ve been in, whether it’s over a girl or just a shit day. It was there for me when my parents split up and I didn’t know what to do with myself. To see the track performed live from the front row, it’s an entirely differently song. Along with the electronic drums, they produce a cacophony of droning feedback effects that create a sonic assault to the ears in the most stunning and gorgeous way possible. Mogwai has been the loudest and quietest show I’ve ever been to, they run the gamut the entire 1+ hour set and it’s fucking beautiful.

Leave a Reply

