TTSTDM #7

#7: I Don’t Care by Fall Out Boy

Ever since I graduated from high school in ’05, I’ve stopped giving a fuck about what people think of me. I’ve always been the type who thinks any publicity is good publicity, since the whole idea is to get people talking about you. In high school, it was written on the bathroom walls. “Scott Osborne is a faggot”, “Ozzy is fucking gay”, “Scott Osborne has a big dick and it makes me feel insecure about myself, so I insult him on bathroom walls like some kind of coward”. Well, the last example ain’t exactly true, but I know the reason they talked slick was because they were insecure about themselves so they needed a target. Part of me is like, you know, fuck those assholes. But another part of me hopes they got help and found themselves after high school. But honestly? I don’t fucking care. I care about my family, my friends, but most of all, I care about me. Where am I at 10+ years later? How much am I making? Where’s MY happy life? Where’s MY house? Where’s MY car? Better yet, where’s MY motivation?

I used to hate Fall Out Boy until I gave Infinity on High a proper listen and really got sucked into their songwriting and music. Folie a Deux was an alright follow up to that album, but “I Don’t Care” was my stand-out track from the album. I never liked lyricist Pete Wentz as a person, always thought he was kind of a dickbag, but he hit the nail on the head with this track. “I don’t care what you think, as long as it’s about me” resonated with me on such a deep fucking level. Because I don’t fucking care about what anyone thinks of me, just that they’re thinking of me. See, at that point, I’ve already made my impact on you and that’s all I need.

Leave a Reply

